SISEA/ANTH 448 Professor Sorensen October 20, 2020 Handout #5

Political Change in South Korea 1945-2022

1945-1948 USAMGIK (United States Military Government in Korea) -August 1946—Korea Interim Legislative Assembly -May 1948—Constitutional Assembly

August 15, 1948 Republic of Korea

First Republic (1948-1960) -President Syngman Rhee (Yi Sŭng-man)

April 19th Student Revolution (1960)

Second Republic (1960-61)

-Prime Minister Chang Myŏn

May 16th Military Coup (1961)

Military Government (1961-1963)

-Supreme Council for National Reconstruction (Pak Chŏng-hŭi)

Third Republic (1963-1972)

-President Chung Hee Park (Pak Chŏng-hŭi) -Martial Law October 17, 1972

Yusin (Fourth) Republic (1972-1979)

-President Chung Hee Park (Pak Chŏng-hŭi) -Assassinated October 26, 1979 -succeeded by Vice President Ch'oe Kyu-ha

December 12th Military Coup (1979)

May 17, 1980 Chun Doo Hwan declares martial law May 18–27th, 1980 Kwangju Uprising

Fifth Republic (1981-1987)

-President Chun Doo Hwan (Chŏn Tu-hwan) -June 29th Declaration of No T'ae-u (1987)

Sixth Republic (1988-pres)

-President Rho Tae Woo (No T'ae-u) 1987-1992

-President Kim Young Sam (Kim Yŏng-sam) 1992-1997

November 1987 IMF \$80 billion bailout with stringent conditions -President Kim Dae Jung (Kim Tae-jung) 1997-2003 -President Roh Mu-hyun 2003-2008 -President Lee Myung-bak 2003-2008 -President Park Geun-hye 2013-2017 *-impeached and removed from office March 10, 2017* -President Moon Jae-in 2017-22 -President Yoon Suk-yeol 2022-pres